Beautiful Bloomsbury

During lockdown, I took many photographs to share on my job’s Facebook page.  I called the series Beautiful Bloomsbury.  To my mind, it was beautiful because there were so few people in it!  The first lockdown took place during the most beautiful spring imaginable with stunning fluffy skies and garden squares awash with colour.  No litter, no traffic, no nutcases, no noise.  It was blissful.

Here are some of those photos:

I discovered St George’s Gardens during lockdown. This flowering tree was particularly stunning as it greeted me on my early morning walk.

An angel of peace in St George’s Gardens
This square is for keyholders only. I felt as if I was looking into a secret garden when I passed it every day.
The small community garden in Marchmont Street was locked for two years. We all thought it would never open again.
Shops I’d never noticed before suddenly sprang out at me during my early morning walks.
It was wonderful to see Russell Square so clean and quiet.
Gordon Square was locked for the duration too. No idea why. It felt as if the council was herding people onto Russell Square by locking so many of the smaller squares. You’d think creating crowds was the last thing you’d want during a pandemic, but then, the council isn’t reknowned for its common sense.
British Museum. Quiet streets.
Pavement garden at the bottom end of Great Ormond Street.
Slightly beyond the Bloomsbury borders – the Royal Courts of Justice.
When Gordon Square finally reopened, the roses were gorgeous.
My place of work (at the time of the lockdowns) overlooking Gordon Square.

About Susannah J. Bell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works.
This entry was posted in 2022: A Fresh Start, Life in Bloomsbury and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment