Book Review: The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


It’s funny how the right book comes along just when you need it most. This was one of those books. While reading it, I had the kind of thoughts that went “this is the best book I’ve ever read!” It probably isn’t but it did give me a whole new perspective on the one thing in my life that really troubles me: regret. It seems awfully simplistic to say this book rescued me but, well, frankly, what can I say. It did just that. It made me realise how bloody stupid regrets are, how time-wasting, how pointless. It also brought back an old adage that my mother used to repeat to me rather a lot: don’t regret yesterday, life is in you today, and you make your own tomorrow. Yes, I know, this all sounds very preachy and worthy, but the book just isn’t like that. It’s a brilliant concept. I love the idea of the midnight library. I love the idea of being able to see that your choices weren’t disastrous, that your life isn’t actually a failure. It was quite obvious from the beginning what the outcome of this book would be, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the book for what it was: a slight tale with a huge message. If I had to change one thing, I’d make the protagonist quite a lot older. Regrets at 35 can be easily overcome as you have more of a chance to change your life if you want to. Much harder when you’re pushing 60 and don’t have the energy to do anything except change your mind.



View all my reviews

About Susannah J. Bell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment