The price you pay for teeny tiny fonts

I have – miraculously – got the price down on my novel TRANSFERENCE and better still, it’s the sort of price you’d expect to pay for a paperback.

One of the many cruelties about self-publishing (and that’s a long list of cruelties) is that the thicker your book, the higher the price.  It isn’t the same in “real world” publishing (I believe this is called “traditional”) where paperbacks have relatively standard prices.  I recently read a novel that had been “fattened” – there was a tremendous amount of wasted space:  huge font, wide margins, blank pages between chapters and – far worse – countless pages at the beginning with reviews telling you wonderful the novel was (it was, by the way, a ghastly novel – never trust a book that TELLS you it’s fab.  It won’t be.)  All I could think of was the trees that had been destroyed to produce this “fattened” book.

But with self-publishing, the battle goes the other way:  how to slim the book down so that the price is actually affordable.  A tiny font is the most obvious solution but how tiny can you go before the reader’s eyes can’t cope?  Age has decreed that tiny fonts have become really hard on my eyes.  I wouldn’t want to reread my copy of The Lord of the Rings as the font is like a series of dots across the page.  (And this is why reading on an e-reader is so marvellous, but that’s another story.)  I eventually settled on Georgia 10.  Georgia is my favourite font and is slightly bolder than the recommended font for science fiction, which I seem to recall being Garamond.  (Obviously this is not the font you’d use on your cover.)

Check it out and let me know what you think:  AMAZON LINK

 

 

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in Getting Published and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

