How do you send newsletters?!?

I had a brilliant idea to send out a newsletter to, er, fans about my books, what’s coming out, lots of pics, lots of links, nice colours etc etc.  I get a newsletter occasionally from one of my favourite authors and thought it was quite a good idea.  Heh.  What I didn’t realise is that you can’t just, you know, whack an email together prettily and there you are.  Going down the paid route is out of the question at the moment.  I really don’t have $50 a month to spend on a fancy newsletter email thing – I can barely scrape together the $70 I need for advertising, let alone doing those fairly vital things to life like eating.  So I tried to go about it without paying.  And failed utterly.

I made the most beautiful newsletter in Word use text boxes after dumping one of the templates I tried – it’s really impossible to try and work with tables when you go outside the fixed size.  But obviously you can’t just send a Word document – it will only go as an attachment and I want people to open up their emails and there it is:  all lovely shades of violet and blue.  I saved it as a web page and tried that but it was a total disasters.  At least 98% of the formatting was lost and the images were stuck at the bottom as attachments.  Horrible!

I’ve spent several weeks working on this.  I’ve Googled sending newsletters in emails endlessly and have come up with no solution.  If there is anyone out there in the universe who knows how to transform my Word document into an email (not an attachment), then I’d be most grateful if you could let me know!

My outdated Word 2007 doesn’t save docs as images, so I’ve had to do a Print Screen to show you what the newsletter looks like.  In fact, I had to do two Print Screens otherwise it would have been too small.  Sigh.  I really am being thwarted by technology at the moment.

 

 

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in Getting Published and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

