What do you do when you’ve finished an enormous novel?

I finished my new novel mid-May and for a long time felt rather lost.  I write because I want to escape into a life that isn’t my own and with that escape gone, I had no idea what to do with myself.  Several months have gone by since then and all I’ve done is work-work-work, slog-slog-slog …….. and distantly dream of writing again, with vague ideas wandering into my mind – and just as quickly wandering out again because they aren’t that good. Though they don’t need to be:  I just need somewhere to go, even if it is only fantasy.

So I’ve been rewriting blurbs for my Exodus Sequence, all nine of them plus the collection.  I’m also rewriting the  blurbs for the Fleet Quintet.  I’ve also added Goodread author reviews and updated the covers, a laborious process.  Each story has been republished with the improved covers, all (hopefully) errors removed and clearer formatting.  I’ve also been working my fingers to the bone on my website, adding many new pages (one for each Exodus story) and deleting the useless ones.  There are links galore and I’ve gone beserk on buttons.  I’ve even changed this blog, though I don’t seem to come here that often any more and never had the courage before to ditch the old theme.  Hopefully the new one is much brighter and cleaner looking.

Aside from all this “career admin” stuff, I’m also spring-cleaning my flat, painting ceilings, hoovering in corners I had forgotten existed and going to my day-job each day, which recently has begun to plunge me into a desperate kind of depression.  All this is pretty dreary.  It’s just slogging, trying to get through the summer, a season I utterly loathe in London.

So if you see me trudging around Tavistock Square, listening to the Bladerunner soundtrack for the zillionth time (comfort-music), no doubt limping because some part of my body is usually sore – that would be my daily half hour of escape.  That’s when I dream about the stories I wish I was writing, even if they’re terrible.  I’d rather be writing rubbish than doing admin.  I wasn’t cut out for this.  I was only ever a dreamer.

Check out my new look website:  www.susannahjbell.com

 

 

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in On Writing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

