Blue Blue Electric Blue that’s the colour of my room

I can’t believe David Bowie is dead.  I heard it on the news at seven on the Today programme and sat there stunned, forgetting entirely that I was supposed to be getting ready to go to work.  Their obituary was longer than any other I’ve heard, even for Lady Thatcher and by 8.20 when I finally left for work – having cried through my muesli and sobbed over my toothbrush – it was Jeremy Corbyn’s turn to say something about it.  (I didn’t stay to listen.)

David Bowie wasn’t supposed to die.  People like him don’t die.  They go on forever.  Or, at least, it should be that way because there are so few people one can truly admire and the world is a lot less interesting with him gone.

By the time I first heard Space Oddity, it was already old and I was hearing it in the cultural wasteland that was 1970’s South Africa, where my life was isolated to the extreme:  I didn’t even know what David Bowie looked like.  That whole glam Ziggy thing completely passed me by because I was living in a bubble where contact with the outside world was zero.  We didn’t even have TV so no Top of the Pops either.  As a result, I grew up not caring what my pop heroes looked like.  It was what they sounded like that counted.  I became umbilically attached to the radio and it was there that I heard these wonderful “old” songs – Space Oddity and Life on Mars.  Because they were never going to die.  And never, ever get old.

My David Bowie is the one from Heroes and Low.  I loved Heroes (the single) and I loved Sound and Vision.  When I finally got the tears to stop, I told myself – sternly – that I was glad there had been a David Bowie.  After that, blue blue electric blue that’s the colour of my room where I will live started going around my head and has done all morning.  I’m now going off to drift into my solitude.

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blue Blue Electric Blue that’s the colour of my room

  1. MG Mason says:

    I heard him described this morning as “the first musician to cross 4 generations, maybe more”. His first track was released in 1969, his last album, just a few months ago. In a way, he will live forever 🙂

    My dad is a fan of Space Oddity and some of his conceptual 70s music. I think he resurgence, particularly amongst people in the 20s and early 30s, is down to that his music featured on the soundtracks of the BBC series’ Life on Mars and Ashes to Ashes, both great tracks in themselves.

    He will be sadly missed.

Leave a Reply

