Free Read on Amazon!

This is the Amazon link:

Been having great fun thinking up Tweets for this short story.  I decided on lifting quotes directly from the story itself.  This is what I came up with:

The flash came in a zigzag of light.

This is what pain looks like.

There was a lot of damage but I hadn’t finished.

The tiles seeped red from his crushed skull.

Are you saying we’re losing the war?

The lights were flashing and they were flashing hard.

Blood spurted on the window.

I’m sick of immortality.

i was nailed to the wet black tarmac of suburbia.

Does everyone know except me?

My favourite one is “this is what pain looks like.”  I’ve only ever once had a headache that involved hallucinatory flashes of light (I believe it’s called an “aura”) and it was one of the most frightening things that has ever happened to me.  I remember resolving to chill a bit more, which basically just means eating more chocolate.  But it was a useful experience to use in this story – the protagonist is a war vet with apparent PTSD.  It’s also very violent, one of the most violent stories I’ve ever written, and despite the writing style not being particularly brilliant, I think it’s one of my best stories:  really raw and insightful.  In the original story, I couldn’t find a satisfying ending and it kind of petered out.  Once I decided to include it in The Exodus Sequence, the ending flashing at me as suddenly as that aura.  It was as if it had waited over ten years for the right ending to come along … … …

Free Walked

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

