e-publishing doesn’t really work – an author’s experience

More and more people are saying this. All the writers out there might as well curl up and die, which is what I feel like doing.

Metaphysical Fantasy

The jury is no longer out. I’m successful as a self-published author (Necromancer’s Gambit, etc), a mainstream Gollancz author (Empire of the Saviours, etc) and an indie author (The Book of Orm, etc). I’ve been working with e-publishing and all other types of publishing for 8 years. I’m very IT savvy. HERE’S THE BOTTOM LINE: sales of my e-books have rarely exceeded 10% of my total sales. Let me say that again: 10% In the scheme of things, it really isn’t worth the pretty large effort that I’ve put into it.

Because, to sell e-books, you have to format the thing, get it onto websites, market it, drive traffic, engage in forum discussion, get reviews, constantly monitor information flows, etc. Yes, it all sounds very similar to what you have to do with a regular hard copy book in the physical world… but the point is the hard copy book…

View original post 270 more words

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to e-publishing doesn’t really work – an author’s experience

  1. Pingback: How not to be an author… | Metaphysical Fantasy

Leave a Reply

