Book Review: W is for Wasted by Sue Grafton

I wasn’t in any particular rush to read this – though once upon a time, I could hardly wait to get my hands on the next Kinsey Millhone book. The last two were immensely disappointing: Sue Grafton hadn’t slacked, but she shifted away from Kinsey’s first person viewpoint and for me, it didn’t work. I didn’t want to get inside the head of a murderer. I wanted to get inside the head of Kinsey! WASTED started brilliantly – and then dived into the head of a different character. Oh no, I thought – erroneously. Because WASTED is NOT like the previous two. IT’S BRILLIANT! Sue Grafton is not only back on form but better than ever. We’re now in 1988 and the world has become more recognisable – the late eighties seem to be the way the eighties are generally remembered (the start of the decade is just leftover seventies…) The story is terrific and very broad with strands that don’t at first seem at all connected. When they do start to mesh, the book becomes unputdownable. We even get a couple of days of Dietz, Kinsey’s sexiest lover. What a treat. W is for Wonderful. Can’t wait for the next one if this is the way the series is going to go out – on a high, high note.

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

