What’s wrong with Doctor Who?

I’ve tried really hard to like the new series.  In the most recent episode, however, I found myself wandering off to the kitchen to get more chocolate.  I was that bored.  I can’t figure out what’s wrong with it.  Is it the new Doctor?  Peter Capaldi’s Doctor doesn’t seem that well-defined.  Or he isn’t to me.  He isn’t particularly likeable and his words and intentions seem to lack clarity.  I might have been able to put up with him, though, if it wasn’t for Clara.  God, I hate her.  She has to be the worst companion ever.  She may be pretty, young and thin.  But that’s all she is.  She has no character to speak of and her life is of no interest to me whatsoever.  She was at her ghastliest in The Caretaker with the boring boyfriend and the Doctor’s misunderstanding – so seriously not funny.  Really not funny.  Not even interesting.  It might just be the writing that is paltry but it’s also the acting.  Compare Rory who was brilliant.  In fact, it’s hard not to compare ClaraDanny with AmyRory – this has been done.  Why is it being done again?  And so badly too.  My favourite companions have been the ones who didn’t fancy the doctor.  Donna didn’t and please note, she wasn’t in her twenties and wasn’t super-thin.  She was normal.  She was funny.  She didn’t take any bullshit and didn’t bat her stupid eyelashes at him.  Clara might have a boyfriend now but she is still vapid.  It isn’t enough to be pretty.  She wasn’t interesting when she was impossible and she still isn’t.  Her story arc is unfolding like a shit soap.  Since she her arrival, the writing has become tired and the direction limp.  Doctor Who seems to be eating itself up with derivative, cannibalistic plots.  It’s become the Downton Abbey of sci-fi.

Another reason for loathing Clara is that apparently she is to blame for the Doctor’s mental state.  In Listen, it’s Clara who tells the Doctor as a child that fear will always be with him.  My 14 y.o. thought that was horrible.  What a way to screw up someone.

And yes, I know I’m treading on toes.  I know Clara is popular.  She’s pretty, she’s scared.  She’s courageous.  What’s not to like.  I’d rather have outrageous, like River Song, but that’s another story….[see interesting blog link below]

http://www.tor.com/blogs/2014/01/the-problem-with-river-song-doctor-who

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s wrong with Doctor Who?

  1. mgm75 says:

    For me, the plots have been thoroughly and utterly bland. I do think that Capaldi is great and I couldn’t stand Clara in the last season but she has grown on me this year. I think the dynamic is much improved, though clearly a lot of others disagree!

    The Caretaker for me was also the best once since Deep Breath. Though the monster of the week was more than overdone, I liked the playoff between the three characters.

    it needs to improve though, because a lot of people are grumbling now.

    I hope we get some de

    • Interesting that you thought The Caretaker was good – it was the final straw for me. The Danny/Clara thing is the most tediously dull relationship saga outside of any soap. My ever-wise 14 y.o. thinks Danny is stupid, which is not a good sign. I’m relieved that it’s not just me, though, that has found the new series seriously wanting.

      • mgm75 says:

        In case you are interested, every week on my blog (usually going up just after the episode has finished airing) I have an open thread where people are free to talk about anything they want related to the episode, the series or speculate on the plot threads.

        New voices are always welcome!

      • Will make a note of that, thanks!

Leave a Reply

