Pulverate the Plagiarists

I thought I’d do an old friend the courtesy of reading his first published novel – I haven’t talked to him for years but used to know him well from a writers’ group fifteen years ago.  Several pages in and I realised he had stolen all the best ideas of a novella I had read out at the time.  I know how easy it is to have similarities between books, how artists of any kind can have similar ideas, even at the similar times, but sometimes these similarities are just TOO coincidental.

My book has five basic ideas:

  1.  A false start
  2. Waking up from an unreality to a reality that is quite different
  3. Memory loss
  4. Character numbers instead of names
  5. A main character called 58 (random and meaningless)

The book that has stolen my ideas has:

  1.  A false start
  2. Waking up from an unreality to a reality that is quite different
  3. Memory loss
  4. Character names with numbers attached
  5. An area called 58 (random and meaningless)

This is slightly beyond plagiarism.  This is betrayal.  Obviously all I want to do is to go out and kill the fucker but life – long and painful as it has been – has taught me that revenge isn’t so much pointless or futile but actually unnecessary.  It’s my school bully incident all over again:  for years, in primary school, I was bullied – nay, tortured – by a girl in a higher year than me.  She would get friends to harass me as well.  She formed a gang with all the neighbourhood kids (younger than her) to torment me.  And then she went to high school and failed the first year (I grew up in a country where you were held back a year if you didn’t pass your end of year exams).  Not only that but she was put in the Practical Course for the not-very-academic.  And then she found God.  Her fate was sealed.  By the time I got to high school, she had been so utterly defanged and declawed that I never suffered a moment’s torment from her again.  Life had avenged itself.

I hope it does so again.

Author’s note:  “pulverate” means to pulverise in such a way that the culprit is turned to dust and scattered to the four corners of the universe, never to reform again.

 

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

