Transference Edit Done

I’ve finished editing Transference, but I’m not convinced I’ve done a good job.  When I did the initial read-through (when the laughs still worked), I had a number of ideas that could improve it.  Some changes had to be made otherwise it would look like a badly researched teenage essay.  The technology is very Eighties but I wanted to keep it that way – I was trying to make a point;  it just needed to be expressed more clearly.  So I made notes and I did my nuclear bomb research and I trawled Wiki and trawled the internet and trawled the accompanying novels in the series.

And in the end, I hardly made any changes at all.  I don’t know if this is an inability of mine or laziness or editing apathy.  It’s not as if anything I’ve written is set in stone, but somehow, when I got there, it was harder than I thought possible.  I felt as if I would lose the tone of the story.  Also, I didn’t want to wreck the style.  My style has changed since this was written:  it’s become much darker and if I introduced this darkness, then the humour would be lost.  I thought the humour (such as it is) is important.  I’ve decided that this will be the first of the Fleet novels, Commences will come fourth, where it will, surprisingly, work well in the series.

A light touch to begin the series.  But will it work?  Now my problem is what to do with it.  I’m still reluctant to go the Kindle route.  I want to see my books on the shelf in Waterstones.  In the library.  On my shelf.  I want to be able to hold and show people and say, “see?”

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Transference Edit Done

  1. Self-editing is very hard. I have done it with a couple of novellas. Otherwise, I think hiring an editor is a great idea.

    As for the physical book vs. Kindle issue — I understand your point there. I use this service: https://www.amazon.com/gp/seller-account/mm-product-page.html?topic=200354160&ld=AZOnDemandMakeM

    CreateSpace is POD, so there’s none of the usual vanity press issues. It costs about 5 US dollars to get a physical copy shipped for proofing — otherwise, there are no fees. BUT in order to print a book that will sell on Amazon, etc., you still have all the Kindle start-up costs — hire an editor, hire a cover designer, etc.

    So with my CreateSpace paperbacks, I have the book on my shelf. My personal friends (the long-suffering, LOL) have copies. I use them for certain giveaways. But the hard fact is, they will not grace the shelves of a major chain bookstore. Ever. Of course, in the US the chain bookstores are disappearing. So for me, I usually say yes, it’s true, my books can’t be found in the supermarket between the ice cream and the soda pop. But to be fair, that’s a really “elite” group of the same old, same old. Even if I were trad-pubbed, it’s unlikely my books would find themselves there.

  2. Oh, I haven’t had my coffee yet, but let me add: if your dream is only to be traditionally published, I respect that! I’m not trying to talk you out of your viewpoint, I’m just trying to make sure you know your options. (Someone did the same for me.) But the fact is, I know self-publishers who have gone my route and hated it. They didn’t get the sales or reviews they hoped for, and ended up giving up writing altogether. So it’s not a fairy tale ending or cure-all. Just an alternate route.

    • I haven’t ruled out any route – just can’t make up my mind for the moment! Need to go and have a loooooong think about it…..! But thanks again for all the info – it’s really helpful. I’m getting a better idea of what it’s all about…..! S

Leave a Reply

