How to stop writing in three easy steps

Have a virus attack your computer and spend the money you were saving for your daughter’s birthday on having it repaired.

Have your wireless router break down and wait six hours for the Virgin engineer to turn up, which means you miss your shift at work and have to take a day’s leave because, after all, it’s not as if your computer is a person and it was sick…

Get your  Windows Media Player to suddenly turn Japanese.

I’m not quite sure if I’m on this planet anymore.  If the aliens are listening, now is a good time to rescue me.

I want to go home.

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to stop writing in three easy steps

  1. If it makes you feel any better, I spilled red wine all over my laptop screen and really REALLY light carpets. I hope the aliens came to your rescue!

  2. Susan says:

    Time to recommit to your creativity despite the material world interfering. Let those aliens be your muses.

  3. Yes, I think you’re right – the trouble is, I’ve been gritting my teeth and trying to get on with the writing for so long that I’m starting to feel a tad worn out! Thirty years of it can do that to you! What I really want is a break……not a breakdown!!!

Leave a Reply

