Editing Transference

I arranged my schedule this week so that each morning is free.  Time to start editing Transference for serious publication.  I had thought to start by doing the research needed to bring it up to scratch (can’t say that I know much about uranium bomb production off-hand) but over the weekend decided to dive in at the deep end.  Suddenly there was nothing more I wanted than to drown in the world of the Fleet, a world I lived in for over a decade writing (and rewriting) the first four novels of the quintet.  I’ll do the research as and when I need it or when my eyes go gritty from trying to inject beauty into awkward phrases.

Transference began as a short story called Access Denied.  It was about a mindwalker who discovered he could also get inside computers.  I have a feeling it might also have gone the same route as Ultra – it then got extensively developed into a screenplay.  Once I decided to get going with my Fleet Quintet, it wrote easily and wonderfully.  In fact, it was the most fun I’ve ever had writing.  I used to get brilliant ideas while writing, the sort you can only dream of when you’ve been at it for decades – ideas that used to blow me away and leave me floating on clouds of brilliance.  The words poured from my fingers like a waterfall…

….mostly all commercial crap, now that I’ve looked at it again.  Though it’s hard to be sure.  But still, whatever.  If it’s brilliant or not, it was still a wonderful experience, one I wish I could repeat again.  Instead, it’s blood-from-stone time now as I try to beat the novel into shape.

I’m up to chapter four and my eyeballs are falling out.

 

Transference thread:

Access Denied or Tranference?

Riding the Rollercoaster

Lost in Alter-Space…again

A Time That Wasn’t

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

