Commences submitted to Authonomy

“…don’t forget the violence”  (MM)

Yesterday I submitted the first six chapters of my Fleet novel Commences to the Authonomy website.  I felt some trepidation, not least of which was inevitable plagiarism, but also:  would anyone actually like it?  Since my first forays into the website, I’ve found a number of novels that are actually quite good, well written and properly planned (though I haven’t finished reading anything yet.)  But everything I’ve found so far is very “clean” i.e. no swearing (except for those really stupid words “frigging” and, worse still, “freaking”), no violence, no sex.  No adult content, in other words.  Perhaps I haven’t found them yet, perhaps they are there, but it does worry me that the website might have a policy for, erm, cleanliness.  That rules me out, then.

The uploading process was very easy.  I have everything ready:

  • The cover picture (and I needn’t have worked so hard because they had examples you could have used and adapted)
  • The 25 word pitch and the 200 word pitch (and, goddamn, but they count a double space and a return mark as A WORD…how nuts is that.  Lots of quick, desperate editing to squish it all up)
  • Other details, such as tags, author name etc etc
  • Uploading the chapters themselves, which couldn’t have been easier.

I’ll see how it goes with the first six before I submit more.

 

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in Getting Published and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Commences submitted to Authonomy

  1. Pingback: Elation and Revelation | Writing from Alter Space

Leave a Reply

