Commences: Book Cover

One of the holdups in downloading Commences on the Authonomy website is the lack of book cover.  People tell me that the book cover doesn’t matter, it’s the blurb that imparts the important information, but still….it’s hard not to want something that attracts attention!  I really wanted a stone angel that was recognisably masculine.  With seriously enormous wings!  Many hours of hunting on the internet only produced female forms with silly, sticking-up wings, like a fairy, or, if they were male, they would be warrior-angels with weapons.

There is only one chapter in Commences that has a “winged creature” apparently made of stone, so it wouldn’t appear to be that important.  In fact, the whole Fleet series is about that character, the “Unknown” as he is called here.  Aside from the fact that I thought it would make quite an effective cover…(don’t people like gloomy, gothic things?)

In the end, I found a female one, tampered with it until it looked sufficiently weird, found a decent-sized font for the title…and then began to wonder how I was going to upload it.  It has to be in picture format and I had it in Word!  After much thought, I wrote to the Authonomy website and got an email straight back.

All I had to do was take a screen shot of the picture in Word, paste it in Paint, crop it and save it – automatically as a JPEG!  So the book cover is ready to go.

Now I just need to edit that first chapter and perhaps I’ll finally feel brave enough to expose my work to the world (or to a very small part of it, at least…)

 

The Unknown

The Unknown

 

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in Getting Published and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

