Vanity Publishing

“prick your finger it is done”  (MM)

I’ve always hated the idea of vanity publishing, hated people who used to say to me, “why don’t you publish it yourself?”  Because people who publish their own books are vain.  Isn’t that what vanity means?  You publish not because you love the art of writing but because you want to be read and desire acknowledgement and, most of all, want to be paid (at least some of us do, anyway.)  But while I love writing, I also want acknowledgement and want to be read.  Otherwise what’s it all for?  I’ve been writing into a vacuum for 35 years.  It’s killing.  The internet has, it would seem, changed the face of vanity publishing what with Authomony, Unbound and even straight-to-Kindle.  I think it’s an act of desperation to turn to vanity publishing, no matter the medium, because here’s the thing:  if a publisher or agent doesn’t want you, it means you’re crap.  What does that tell me?

About susannahjbell

I am a writer of science fiction and other strange and surreal works. I mostly write novels and the occasional novelette. My published works include A Doorway into Ultra, the Fleet Quintet and the Exodus Sequence. I live in London in an attic flat but really want to live in a tree. I wanted to be an astrophysicist but would settle for an alien abduction. I write because I don’t know what to read.
This entry was posted in Getting Published and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

