Transferring Transference

I’m going completely nuts trying to turn Transference into a paperback.  These are the times when I wish I had VAST gobs of capital and could just get someone else to do it for me.  It’s not the mechanics (spending hours and hours arsing about on CreateSpace) but the fact that for all this work, all I can turn out in the end is a not very professional looking novel that is too big and too expensive.

The first problem is the cover.  I can’t use the ebook cover because the resolution isn’t high enough, despite the fact that I jacked up the resolution as high as it could physically go – CreateSpace cover creator just would not accept it.  This meant either (a) finding another image and paying through the teeth for it or (b) using one of CreateSpace’s free images.  My lack of capital meant going with (b) and believe me, the images they have are not good.  They aren’t bad – they just aren’t appropriate.  Nothing remotely sci-fi-ish.  And anyway, I really want a white corridor on the cover but there aren’t any anywhere in the universe, it seems (except perhaps inside Gomenzi’s head:  perhaps that explains it all.)

When the proof finally arrived, after a wait of nearly three weeks, it was most disappointing and awfully….grey.  So today I had another go at the cover, driving myself bonkers trying out everything over and over and over again.  With CS’s cover creator, you get to chose a style (eg an image that covers back and front covers) and within that style, you can chose five or so different fonts, none of which are EVER suitable for sci-fi covers.  Lots of romance ones, though, very curly and pretty but not appropriate.

Once I finally sorted out a slightly less crap cover, I decided that I didn’t want this HUGE sized book and went for something more feasible:  the 5” by 8”.  That’s the slightly bigger paperback you get in a shop.  Naturally I had to slave away all afternoon making changes to the manuscript because the size had shunted down from 9” by 11”.  Lots of peculiar blank pages to delete.

Finally it was done.  Uploaded it.  Uploaded the damn cover about seven times before internet-land realised it was actually finished…..and finally I could chose a price (and then order a proof.)  THE PRICE – DEAR GOD – THE PRICE!!!!  So THAT’s why everyone goes for 9 by 11.  The minimum price for the 5 by 8 was nearly $20!  Who wants to buy a sci-fi paperback for nearly twenty dollars!  It’s insane!  That must be around £12 which is just…well, insane.  The smaller the book, the greater the expense to publish it.  How does that work?  I’m sure there’s a very logical reason but I don’t want to know.  I don’t care.  I’m back to looking cheap and unprofessional and it grates.

So.  I’m going to have to go back and do it all again.  Resubmit the 9 by 11 manuscript.  Redo the cover.  Yet again.  Pay for a proof.  Snarl at the bank for trumping up evil bank charges.  (You spent a dollar!  We will charge you nine million pounds for spending a dollar! MWHAHAHAHA)(Quite.)

How’s this for the cover, then?

Yet another Createspace cover - Copy

One response to “Transferring Transference

Leave a Reply

